Here's the Thing....
Here's the Thing.... Podcast
DRESSING FOR LIFE
6
0:00
-6:06

DRESSING FOR LIFE

A blueprint
6

I was lucky enough to attend the Georgia O’Keefe ‘My New Yorks’ exhibition at the Art Institute of Chicago, one of my all time favourite places, last week. Prior to my visit, I was really only aware of her flower paintings, and that she lived in the desert and used animal skulls in her later works. So, as a lover of cities rather than nature, viewing paintings of skyscrapers, and seeing New York from a totally different perspective, was a thrill for me.

Her mantra was always to simplify everything down to its most natural form. As her work progressed, many of the details that would normally see in real life are not included in the finished piece. Consistent and disciplined in her life, her work and her wardrobe, this simplicity and minimalism translated into what she wore. Her clothing reflected and reiterated her most important values.

As Virginia Woolf famously wrote in her novel, Orlando:

”Vain trifles as they seem, clothes have, they say, more important offices than to keep us warm. They change our view of the world and the world’s view of us”

So, who we are, how we live, and what we want the world to know about us are all conveyed, silently, via what we wear.

It’s a huge responsibility for our wardrobe to get this right, every single time we step out of the door. No wonder we end up with purchases that stay in the closet unloved, and unappreciated. To assist us, it can help to have some kind of rules. Even if we are unaware of them, they can give us some kind of starting point and focus. Over the years I’ve honed mine and I think they now reflect the person I have become.

Here are mine:

  1. Less is more.  I often use the idea of likening an outfit to a picture. Where does the focus need to be? What is the colour scheme? Do the textures blend together or are they fighting for attention?  For me , I prefer to play it down. Too many bold colours, details, patterns or accessories worn together make it difficult to focus on me, the actual wearer. Choosing a plain but beautiful fabric means I can be selective with how I accessorise so it looks elegant, not whimsical. This is under the radar, low key, understated dressing.

  2. Simplicity is key.  Frills and frou frou are out as I seek only clean lines and simple shapes. This means that clothing will mix and match more easily, making my wardrobe far more versatile. The basis of my wardrobe tends to be easy to care for pieces that don’t need much in the way of ironing. My statement piece is usually my glasses or footwear but I’ll reiterate, less is more.

  3. Seek quality.  Itchy, scatchy, cheap fabrics don’t belong in my wardrobe. Fabrics should hang well when worn and feel beautiful to the touch. These days I happily spend more as the rewards are worth in the long run.

  4. Fashion is not the main focus. Generally, my pieces transcend the passage of time. This does not mean to say they are ‘dated and frumpy’ but I can be reinvent to suit the time period. My wardrobe houses classic styles such as trench coats, a boyfriend style jacket, single breasted coat, knit dresses, white shirt, ‘smart’ jeans and leather boots, all staples for this type of dressing. How I wear them is the key to keeping up to date.

Share Here's the Thing....

  1. Keep it Cool. I love cool neutrals that can be ‘dressed’ up or down with a splash of colour, always in my lipstick, occasionally in a scarf or shoes. This is sensible dressing as most will mix and match, though you might be surprised at just how many different shades of grey (and black) there are. It also feeds my creative streak.

  2. Fit. If it doesn’t fit, and I can’t get it altered, I won’t buy it. Poor fit makes even the most expensive garment look cheap. I always move around in the changing rooms and make sure it looks good from the back view as well as the front.

  3. Feel. This should really be at the beginning of this post as it’s my NUMBER ONE rule. I might look good but if I don’t feel good in something, then it stays in the store.

Here’s the Thing: We are all unique beings, so we need dress to showcase what makes us tick. A teacher of mine once asked me “What do you want the world to know about you - right now?” If you can answer that, happy days. You are well into the finding the first step of the process.

Discussion about this podcast

Here's the Thing....
Here's the Thing.... Podcast
Thoughts about clothing, past, present and future. What we wear, why we wear it and how it might make us feel.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sue Donnelly