Here's the Thing....
Here's the Thing.... Podcast
OLD BARBIE?
3
0:00
-3:57

OLD BARBIE?

3

I visited the Design Museum Kensington this weekend, for the fascinating SOLD OUT Barbie exhibition. Although I took my grandkids, aged 8 and 9, for the most part it was older women that crowded the space. Most of us were brought up with Barbie or an equivalent doll. One woman became very emotional when she saw Barbie’s Dream House, saying how she never got one despite constant requests to her parents. I think we can all identify with that - right?

Barbie was the brain child of Ruth Marianna Handler, one of the co founders of Mattel. She recognised that young girls loved to play dress up with cut out paper dolls - remember them - and decided to create a plastic adult version for them to play with. Even now, 65 years later, Barbie earns one third of Mattel’s revenue and we’re probably talking billions of dollars here. She is still one popular gal, that’s for sure. 

Thank you for reading Here's the Thing..... This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Despite the increasing diversity of the doll in terms of hair and skin colour, size and shape, disabilities, job (inc. Presidential candidate) there was nothing about an older version. As I said before, Barbie was created in 1959, a year after I was born so she would probably be a Grandma Barbie now. 

My questions are these:

As Barbie is perpetually young is there no room for a mature version? I understand we might not want to ‘play’ with a doll as we did in our younger days, but don’t children need a role model for an older woman?

Can we actually be like Barbie as we age? Do we want to be? If so, what are the qualities? Does it mean we have to undergo cosmetic surgery to retain the elixir of youth or could Barbie have wrinkles and a few more pounds around her middle? 

Get more from Sue Donnelly in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Personally, I’d love to see an older Barbie’s wardrobe. The clothes were the best part for me growing up. While I didn’t own a Barbie, I did treasure my Tressy - whose hair grew (remember her?) I lived my coveted, future and aspirational life via her Air Stewardess outfit, complete with tray of food for the first class passenger, capri pants and gingham shirt etc etc. It’s no surprise I ended up dressing people for a living. I also loved her because she was the only doll with mousy brown hair that matched my own. Most were blonde or dark haired and I didn’t identify with them. 

I am excited to continue the conversation about age with my wonderful Coffee and Conversation pals. The discussion will centre around the following questions:

If you didn’t know your age, how old would you think you’d be? 

Is there an age you would love to return to? If so, which age would that be? 

Do you look older or younger than your age? 

What’s your scary age? 

Would you rather be a super chic old lady or a nutty but hilarious eccentric?

If you fancy joining us, it’s free. Coffee and Conversation 

Here’s the Thing: Would it be so awful to include old age in a brand that celebrates diversity, even if it is aimed at children? 

Looking forward to your responses.

Leave a comment

Discussion about this podcast

Here's the Thing....
Here's the Thing.... Podcast
Thoughts about clothing, past, present and future. What we wear, why we wear it and how it might make us feel.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sue Donnelly